a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore

raven's daughter
External Services:
  • ravnsdaughter@livejournal.com
Hey there, I'm Karla. I'm a 34 year old woman living in New Westminster, BC, Canada. I live with my partner of two years, Ian, and we are servants to three feline masters - Hermione, a 9 year old brown marble Bengal, who has an awful lot of attitude for her teeny body; Onyx, a 3 year old pitch-black Maine Coone mix, who has more fur than brains by a long stretch; and a 7 month old calico named Ember. We also have a 4 year old Akita dog named Cody.

By day, I am the legal assistant to a lawyer practicing family law, and I'm currently trying to decide what I want to do with the rest of my life.

I spend my free time on a myriad of time-sucking hobbies. I am a gamer (World of Warcraft and Wii games), a flameworker (I make glass beads over a propane torch - another name for this is lampworking), a musician (I've been playing the piano for almost 30 years now, and have recently begun learning to play the harp), a beginner target archer, and an active member of the SCA. I also do many other crafts such as spinning, knitting, embroidery, sewing, calligraphy and illumination, beadwork and soapmaking.

In the SCA, I am known as Lady Asny Ravnsdottir of the Barony of Lions Gate, in the Principality of Tir Righ, Kingdom of An Tir, and I am apprenticed to Mistress Seiglynda of Elphinstone.

I am a longtime pagan (15 years or so), and a member of both Ar n'Draoicht Fein and the Sisterhood of Avalon. I have not really talked much about my spirituality on my livejournal in the past, but it is a topic that may come up from time to time.